The art of tea making

I’m currently reading (no, not reading, devouring) Seth Godin‘s new book entitled “Linchpin – Are You Indispensable?“. In a nutshell what Godin says is that the world (and organizations) are in demand of a new kind of “employee”, one that spreads its art – the art of giving, the art of navigating without a map, the art of putting passion into its job no matter what that job is. The world needs linchpins. Godin cites several examples of linchpins: people that master the art of inventing new businesses or the art of waiting tables.

I’ve been reading the book at this cafe by the seaside and I’ve started to observe the waiters. One is clearly a linchpin! She always greets me with a warming smile when I enter and says “see you tomorrow” whenever I leave (though I do not go there everyday). She helps tourists understand the menu of learn a few words of Portuguese. She gives kids that extra bit of ice cream and helps us decide what to have.

I went there today to continue reading Godin’s book until sunset and when I told her that I wanted a tea but stopped for 5 secs to think what kind of tea she immediately offered to bring me a box full of them so that I could pick. I eventually decided on a Dilmah Mint tea. And as I took the little bag I noticed the text written in the back:

Thank you for choosing Dilmah. Dilmah is a very special tea. Its founder has dedicated his life to tea, and he has mastered the art of tea making. He guides his family business with care, pride and passion. You can’t buy that!!” (emphasis as appearing on the tea bag)

I just smiled when reading this. It seemed as if the linchpin factor was everywhere, from the waiter to the tea. And I swear that a mint tea never felt better!

5 thoughts on “The art of tea making

  1. @kseverny Thank you for your comment. I totally agree. There are plenty of cafes around that area but I just keep going to that same one.

  2. yea Linchpin is an awesome book. I am reading it as well. Half way through it. But I can’t help wondering, what the world would be like if everyone was a linchpin…..

  3. This just tilted my hand to the “buy” button for the kindle edition… thank you🙂

    I’m pretty sure I’ll take another peek at your “Books” category one of these days😉

    • Hey Hugo, happy New Year!!

      Linchpin is a great book🙂 And yes, please check the other books I mention here. I particularly recommend the ones by Clay Shirky and The Cluetrain Manifesto!

Leave a Reply

