Looking back on 2012

“Whom had the idea of dividing time into pieces, what we name a year, was a genius. Hope was industrialised, making hope work to the limit of exhaustion. Twelve months are enough for anyone to exhaust themselves and throw in the towel. There enters the miracle of renovation and it all begins again, with a new number and a new will to believe that from there on everything will be different”

Translated from Carlos Drummond de Andrade

‘Tis the season to look back on another 12 months that passed and reflect on what I’ve accomplished, learned, failed and enjoyed.

I’ve kept my promise of slowing down a bit this year, though I still managed to organise another edition of Cidadania 2.0 (an event on the importance of social tools for citizenship and government) and two Ignite Portugal events in my lovely hometown of Porto. I taught Enterprise 2.0 for the second consecutive year at the local business school (a venture I’m thrilled to continue doing next year!), thus confirming my passion for teaching (though I’ve never really doubted it). And I was invited to speak at some private events which always gives me the opportunity to share my ideas and views, spread the word on a few topics and get some interesting feedback.

I’ve read some amazing books including The Power of Pull, Too Big To Know, What Technology Wants and The Connected Company. And also some inspiring posts that the social web, through the brilliant people I keep track of, has put into my path.

But most of all I’ve (re)met some lovely & inspiring people (you know who you are🙂 ) and learned a lot during my attendance/participation in three great events: the Enterprise 2.0 Summit in Paris, the Social Business Forum in Milan and the Social Now in Porto!

As the opening quote from Carlos Drummond states, I look into 2013 with hope and excitement (yes, that despite the surrounding crisis). This does not mean that I think it will be an easy year, far from it. But I’m prepared to continue putting the hours, effort, energy and passion into driving the things I want to move forward: humanizing organisations, helping build better workplaces, connecting a local community of smart people interested in doing the same and continuously learning.

And I’ll also keep planting the seeds to opportunities & projects that motivate me and will make grow both as personally & professionally.

Thank you for keeping in eye on my writing. Wishing you all a great 2013!

Leave a Reply

