Summer 2016 readings

It’s been a long time since I’ve blogged but I’ve decided to break the silence to share with you the books I’ve selected for my summer readings:

Blockchain

Sun, sea and a book: what else could I ask for?

“The Blockchain Revolution” by Don and Alex Tapscott is my first choice. I’ve been wanting to understand the bitcoin and blockchain phenomenon for a while now but didn’t really have the mental availability to dig deeper into the topic, amidst my intense work activity both at the office and at the business school where I’m privileged to teach.

Having learned so much from Don these past years (I still remember reading Wikinomics at the beach during the summer of 2009), I was thrilled to learn that he had just published this book. I’m still at page 45 but I already like the authors approach to the topic:

The blockchain and cryptocurrencies, particularly bitcoin, already have massive momentum, but we’re not predicting whether or not all this will succeed, and if it does, how fast it will occur. […] So rather than predicting a blockchain future, we’re advocating for it

Next on the list is “Why Information Grows: The Evolution of Order, from Atoms to Economies” by César Hidalgo from the MIT Media Lab. I’m not sure what to expect from the book but I’d read a review that spiked my curiosity and wanted to read something very different.

The last, but not least, book on the list is “The Rosie Effect” by Graeme Simsion. At the end of May I was returning from Amsterdam, tired and looking forward to getting home. But I decided to browse the bookstores at Schiphol and found a book that caught my attention -“The Rosie Project”. It turned out to be a fantastic flight as I was totally absorbed by my reading and laughing my tiredness out! So as the first book turned out to be such a delightful and heartwarming read about being different, mental health and love, I had to read the sequel.

What are you reading this summer? What would you recommend?

 

 

 

.

Leave a Reply

