I = igniting, inspiring (part II)

The idea came from reading Linchpin by Seth Godin a few months ago. Some time after I wrote a post on this blog which would turn out to be the basis for the talk I delivered last week at The Hub in Oporto as part of the Ignite Portugal initiative.

From my personal and professional experience of some years now I have often seen, and felt, the consequences that fear provokes. I mean, who hasn’t stepped out a meeting wishing they have spoken against that idea or project? Who hasn’t finished a conversation with the boss without having the courage to present that slightly crazy but potentially innovative idea because a little voice that just kept buzzing “he/she will find it ridiculous”? Who hasn’t seen colleagues whisper ideas, thoughts or complaints in the corridors or the watercooler (coffee in Europe) machine that never get to be said in the “correct” timing?

I do believe that we keep ideas or actions, that could eventually help our company, our colleagues and ultimately ourselves, not because we are lazy but because “something” seems to paralyze us. And part of that mystery resides in the depths of that fascinating box that we call brain!

In my Ignite talk I explain a bit why this happens and what consequences it brings to our lives and to our companies. The talk was delivered in Portuguese (video not available yet) but I’ve decided to do an English version of the presentation and record a slidecast so that I can share it with an wider audience 🙂

Hope you enjoy it. I certainly liked defeating my lizard brain 😉

[2o/July/2010] PS – for the Portuguese-speaking visitors to this blog I have the pleasure to announce that Vitor Silva has recorded and made available the original podcast of my presentation. Thank you so much Vitor! Personally let me just tell you that is so strange hearing one’s voice. And yes, my friend V. was right, I was a bit nervous 🙂

2 thoughts on “I = igniting, inspiring (part II)

  1. About two months ago I wanted to write a post in the importance of experimentalism inside the companies I might take your mention to get back to it.

    Nice presentation 🙂

    • Hello Mario. Thank you for your comment, glad you liked the presentation 🙂 I’ll be awaiting your blog post on this topic 😉

Leave a comment